April 26, 2011

ISC Connection #7: My Internship This Summer

Posted in COMM 306, ISC Connections at 1:08 PM by amandapoole

Over this semester I have learned many new and useful things about public relations and communication. Well, now it is my time to put all this information I have learned to use. Starting in just a week I will be a marketing intern at Dogtopia of Charlotte. My responsibilities will include…

  • Updating the Dogtopia of Charlotte website on a daily basis
  • To create and maintain a database of vendors and potential clients
  • Community networking with local Charlotte businesses (ex: veterinarians, dog trainers, and potential clients)
  • Help set up for events and coordinate, this would include interacting directly with customers and vendors.
  • Help market new clients into an existing strong customer base.
  • Maintain the companies blog, Twitter, and Facebook page.
  • Help create videos/commercials for the company.

Many of the things I will be doing this summer I have learned this semester in my digital media and strategic communication classes. I am very excited that I am getting the opportunity to learn and work independently with a growing organization. Since I am going to be updating there companies blog frequently, I am very appreciative that Dr. MacArthur has taught me all about corrective blogging strategies and I have had the chance to practice over this semester. Hopefully, I will be able to transport my newly developed skills into my internship. I look forward to what lies ahead this summer.

Check out my internship website here:  http://dogdaycare.com/

Leave a comment